• Closed
  • Spiros Doikas
    Spectator
    December 13, 2013 at 8:33 pm #8183

    I am trying to recreate a similar layout as seen here: http://www.siderman.gr/

    That is to say, one article that will extend fully at the top and 6 other articles below in two columns with their thumbnail images either like that or as seen in alora demo (http://demo.theme4press.com/alora/) with the thumbnail on top.

    (I have used the Post Types Order plug-in http://wordpress.org/plugins/post-types-order/ to get specific posts sticky in home page (will they stay in that order when new posts are added?), but I discovered you have one option in theme options “Enable posts type order plugin”, does that mean that the same plug in already exists in your framework?)

    This is where I am now http://www.siderman.gr/1×2/
    Apparently, I need to be able to get the right thumbnail size created (they are too big now, having selected Medium in Blog options).

    Also, I see that at the beginning of the page (http://www.siderman.gr/1×2/) links are not displayed with different colour, they are however when clicking on the actual post (http://www.siderman.gr/1×2/nikos-sideris/). Can this be changed?

    Another point, I want it to be fluid, so that with a wide screen or when changing zoom in the browser the whole page stretches. Please refer to attached images for comparison.

    zc3k.png

    ugus.png

    Thanks for the kind help so far.

    Roman
    Participant
    Posts: 3147
    December 14, 2013 at 7:25 pm #8734

    sorry, but cannot use so wide layout on the alora layout by default. it uses only fixed width.

    “Enable posts type order plugin” – this means you have to install the plugin and enable this checkbox..then it will work together

    for 100% width, try to use in Custom CSS field something like:

    Code:
    .alora-row {width:100%!important;}

    Spiros Doikas
    Spectator
    Posts: 48
    December 14, 2013 at 8:54 pm #8738

    Thanks, tried the css but did not change it.
    Also, although I have disabled google fonts, I see in the code that it still loads:

    Code:
    <link rel=’stylesheet’ id=’open-sans-css’ href=’//fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=Open+Sans%3A300italic%2C400italic%2C600italic%2C300%2C400%2C600&subset=latin%2Clatin-ext&ver=3.8′ type=’text/css’ media=’all’ />

    I also see the google maps api being loaded without need:

    Roman
    Participant
    Posts: 3147
    December 14, 2013 at 9:07 pm #8741

    try this CSS code:

    Code:
    .alora-row {max-width:100%!important;}

    will try to fix the fonts and maps issue. thanks.

    Spiros Doikas
    Spectator
    Posts: 48
    December 14, 2013 at 9:11 pm #8745

    Yes, that did it!
    For the time being I removed these from header.php

    Code:
    <?php if(!$data[‘status_gmap’]): ?><script type=”text/javascript” src=”https://maps.google.com/maps/api/js?v=3.exp&sensor=false&language=<?php echo substr(get_locale(), 0, 2); ?>”></script><?php endif; ?>
    Code:
    <?php if($data[‘google_body’] && $data[‘google_body’] != ‘Select Font’): ?>
    <link href=’http<?php echo (is_ssl())? ‘s’ : ”; ?>://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=<?php echo urlencode($data[‘google_body’]); ?>:300,400,400italic,500,600,700,700italic&subset=latin,greek-ext,cyrillic,latin-ext,greek,cyrillic-ext,vietnamese’ rel=’stylesheet’ type=’text/css’ />
    <?php endif; ?>

    <?php if($data[‘google_nav’] && $data[‘google_nav’] != ‘Select Font’): ?>
    <link href=’http<?php echo (is_ssl())? ‘s’ : ”; ?>://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=<?php echo urlencode($data[‘google_nav’]); ?>:300,400,400italic,500,600,700,700italic&subset=latin,greek-ext,cyrillic,latin-ext,greek,cyrillic-ext,vietnamese’ rel=’stylesheet’ type=’text/css’ />
    <?php endif; ?>

    <?php if($data[‘google_headings’] && $data[‘google_headings’] != ‘Select Font’): ?>
    <link href=’http<?php echo (is_ssl())? ‘s’ : ”; ?>://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=<?php echo urlencode($data[‘google_headings’]); ?>:300,400,400italic,500,600,700,700italic&subset=latin,greek-ext,cyrillic,latin-ext,greek,cyrillic-ext,vietnamese’ rel=’stylesheet’ type=’text/css’ />
    <?php endif; ?>

    <?php if($data[‘google_footer_headings’] && $data[‘google_footer_headings’] != ‘Select Font’): ?>
    <link href=’http<?php echo (is_ssl())? ‘s’ : ”; ?>://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=<?php echo urlencode($data[‘google_footer_headings’]); ?>:300,400,400italic,500,600,700,700italic&subset=latin,greek-ext,cyrillic,latin-ext,greek,cyrillic-ext,vietnamese’ rel=’stylesheet’ type=’text/css’ />
    <?php endif; ?>

    Roman
    Participant
    Posts: 3147
    December 14, 2013 at 9:13 pm #8746

    can use that also..but must keep it in mind for the next theme release

    Spiros Doikas
    Spectator
    Posts: 48
    December 16, 2013 at 8:38 am #8754

    And it looks like some open-sans references are hardcoded in css too?

    Roman
    Participant
    Posts: 3147
    December 16, 2013 at 5:43 pm #8763

    those are default font values…