• Open
  • Hannes Lis
    Participant
    April 28, 2019 at 8:41 am #43496

    Hi, is it possible to automatically update the theme?

    If not, how do I do that practically? I had a bad experience with the major update some months ago. Just copy the new files over the old ones?

    Hannes

    Roman
    Keymaster
    Posts: 3096
    April 29, 2019 at 9:35 am #43499

    Hi Hannes,

    at this moment is not possible to update the theme automatically. Please follow the steps in our docs to update the theme manually https://theme4press.com/guide/docs/theme-installation-update/#updating-theme . We plan to add the auto update in the future. Thanks for your patience and understanding

    Hannes Lis
    Participant
    Posts: 38
    May 1, 2019 at 11:05 am #43508

    Hi, I am sorry, but that’s not the way I want to update, because my customization will be lost, and I don’t mean changes to code (which I did not do), but setting up startpages, colors, fonts, … if I change the theme, upload the new one and then change to the new theme, I will probably loose such customization steps. Please provide a sustainable solution!

    Hannes Lis
    Participant
    Posts: 38
    May 1, 2019 at 11:08 am #43509

    PS. and I need the new version because of WooCommerce, which warns me already, that some pages are deprecated. And I am sure, that customization/configuration for the WooCommerce plugin will also be harmed, if I change themes the way you suggest an update.

    Hannes Lis
    Participant
    Posts: 38
    May 3, 2019 at 11:53 am #43521

    What happens, if I just copy the new files onto the old files?

    Roman
    Keymaster
    Posts: 3096
    May 3, 2019 at 1:41 pm #43525

    We will release new theme version soon. We implemented the new woocommerce changes.

    Hannes Lis
    Participant
    Posts: 38
    May 4, 2019 at 7:35 am #43532

    Again my question: how do I update manually without changing themes? Is it possible to simply copy new files over exciting ones in the plugins folder?

    Roman
    Keymaster
    Posts: 3096
    May 6, 2019 at 9:16 am #43534

    yes, it is. Through FTP or a file manager program. I advice to backup before you proceed

    Hannes Lis
    Participant
    Posts: 38
    May 12, 2019 at 6:59 pm #43561

    Thanks, just copying over the old files worked. You can close the ticket.

    Please look into automatic update though 🙂

    Roman
    Keymaster
    Posts: 3096
    May 13, 2019 at 10:10 am #43564

    thanks for the info 😉